Nigeria’s most reputable music award rebounds with a strong appearance

On Saturday, May 5, 2018, the Nigerian entertainment scene stood still as the Headies took place at Eko Hotel & Suites.

After a one-year hiatus, headies returned better and bigger with its 12th edition hosted by comedian Bovi and singer Seyi.

The performances this year were top notch as the organizers used a live band as well as a DJ for performances. It was obvious many of the performers rehearsed adequately for their sets, standout performances include Falz, Mr Real, Mad Melon & Mountain Black, and Simi.


The sound production was on point and the stage design is arguably the best the Headies has ever witnessed in all of its years.

Wizkid, Davido and Simi were the biggest winners at the 2018 Headies awards; Wizkid won two solo categories and shared two other categories with Tiwa Savage and Daps for best collaboration and best video respectively.

Davido won three awards including artiste of the year and song of the year while Simi, who also took home three plaques, won album of the year and recording of the year.

Following closely on their trail in awards haul was MI Abaga, who took home two plaques at the glamorous event while Mayorkun won the highly coveted next rated award.

See full list of winners here and congratulations to them!

Lyricist on the roll: MI Abaga

Best Pop Single – Davido (IF)

Rookie of the year: Teni

Best R&B Single: Simi (Smile for me)

Best Street Hop Artist – Small Doctor (Penalty)

Best Rap Single: MI Abaga (You rappers should fix up your lives)

Best performer: Yemi Alade

Producer of the Year: Kiddominant (Fall, Mama)

Best collabo: Tiwa Savage and Wizkid (Malo)

Best reggae/dancehall single: 2baba (Holy Holy)

Recording of the year: Simi (Joromi)

Hip Hop World Revelation: Reekado Banks

Next Rated: Mayorkun

Best alternative song: Fun mi Lowo Mi (Aramide ft Sound Sultan)

African artiste of the year: (Nasty C)

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>