Governor Ajimobi loses Senatorial Election to PDP Candidate

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Kola Balogun has been declared the winner of the Oyo South senatorial district election, Premium Times reports.

This declaration was made Monday morning by the returning officer of the district, Wole Akinsola, at the INEC collation centre office located in Ibadan North LGA.

Balogun edged his closest rival, Governor Abiola Ajimobi of the All Progressive Congress (APC), who is also a former senator, with a vote difference of 13,502.

The PDP candidate ended the contest with a total of 105,720 votes while the candidate of the APC had 92,217 votes.

In total, Ajimobi won in three of the local governments in the senatorial district and Balogun won the remaining six.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>