EU countries to reopen borders for fully vaccinated travellers

The member states of the European Union(EU) on Wednesday, 19th of May, 2021 agreed to reopen the bloc’s borders to travelers who have been fully vaccinated against the coronavirus.

While meeting in Brussels, diplomats also agreed to increase the level of new cases a country can hit before being declared unsafe — a measure that would open up travel into the EU from more places.

The diplomats revealed that EU ministers will adopt the recommendations on Friday, 21st of May, 2021. An EU Commission spokesman also confirmed that the envoys had endorsed the update to travel rules.

Since March 2020, non-essential travel into the 27-member European Union has been banned, apart from a small number of countries deemed safe because of their low COVID-19 case rate.

But since businesses on the continent are reopening as virus restrictions are phased out, bars, hotels, and restaurants are worried about the summer tourist trade.

Diplomats said that, under the new rules, travelers who could confirm that they had received the required number of doses of an EU-approved vaccine could enter the bloc.

In addition, the number of cases per 100,000 people that a country could register over two weeks and be considered for the green list will rise from 25 to 75.

This would still exclude non-vaccinated travelers from much of the world but could allow travel from, for example, Britain, which is well-advanced in its vaccination campaign.

The current green list only has seven countries: Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, plus China if Beijing agrees to reciprocate.

Member states also agreed to set up a coordinated emergency mechanism to rapidly suspend arrivals from a non-EU country stricken by the sudden appearance of a new variant.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.